Benfica - Chelsea refereed by Paolo Tagliavento (ITA)
The Portuguese team claimed a handball penalty when it was still level (0-0). John Terry obviously touched the ball with his hand or arm.
In screenshot #1, one can obviously see that Terry's arms are widely sprawled out. Criteria to be fulfilled for a deliberate handball are according to the Laws of the Game whether there is a movement with the hand towards the ball (-), the distance between the player and the ball (small) and it is also emphasized that the "position of the hand does not necessarily mean that there is an infringement" (p.113 FIFA LotG). Kind of unwritten law is also the pace, which was quite high. Although Terry's hand position is certainly a bit careless, there is a clear and visible effort (#3) conducted by the Chelsea defender to pull away his hand. On the whole, it is a controversial decision but - with regard to the criteria - a correct one.
The officials involved were Paolo Tagliavento, Luca Maggiani and Luca Banti from Italy.
AC Milan - FC Barcelona refereed by Jonas Eriksson (SWE)
In the early stage of this top clash, FC Barcelona claimed a penalty after an alleged foul by the goalkeeper Abbiati on Alexis Sánchez.
It is a very difficult situation for the Swedish officials Jonas Eriksson and especially Markus Strömbergsson who functioned as Additional Assistant Referee 1.
Sánchez tries to round Abbiati in order to score the goal which would have been empty then. Abbiati tries to catch the ball with outstretched arms, but does not get the ball. Instead, he pulls the arms away (#3), Alexis Sánchez threads or merges - more or less consciously. Therefore, the striker in a way mounts Abbiati's arms and chest with his feet and is of course hit by the goalkeeper. However, what should he do? He cannot be punished for being there, furthermore, even though it was certainly no clear dive, the efforts undertaken by the Chilene striker to get in contact with the prostrated and chanceless goalkeeper were immense so that the decision not to award a penalty seems to be spot on.
FC Barcelona - AC Milan refereed by Björn Kuipers
The Dutchman had to cope with two situations in the box, he awarded two penalty kicks to FC Barcelona.
The 1st PK:
No discussion about that. Antonini's sliding tackle only touches the main pillar of Lionel Messi, correct decision. It could have followed a passive offside position which became active, however, Antonini consciously took the ball so that it was no offside preceding this foul.
The 2nd PK:
|The duel at the penalty spot is starting, ball is not in play|
|The duel continues and becomes more intense, ...|
|... and Nesta does not stop ...|
|... holding his opponent's kit.|
|Puyol also does his part..|
|Busquets falls, Kuipers awards a penalty and a YC.|
Certainly a difficult call. The decision itself appears as 100% correct. However, there are certain instructions in FIFA LotG and also in several UEFA courses.
"Holding an opponent includes the act of preventing him from moving past or around using his hands, the arms or the body. Referees are reminded to make an early intervention and to deal firmly with holding offences especially inside the penalty area at corner kicks and free kicks.
To deal with these situations:
- the referee must warn any player holding an opponent before the ball is in play
- caution the player is the holding continues before the ball is in play..."
Probably, referee Kuipers did not see the duel already going on when the ball was not yet in play. The additional assistant referee's view was also restricted due to another player. Therefore, Kuipers made at least no infringement by the referee but a wrong decision based on facts. He potentially saw it too late. Finally, one of course can raise doubts whether a referee must tell Alessandro Nesta - a large a mount of experience because of 99 UEFA Champions League matches - that holding another player's kit could have serious consequences. At least an evitable penalty kick, from both sides, players and referees.
Generally, an appeal could be that all the referees should consistently award penalty kicks for this sort of foul. There is no sense if in Germany, this sort of foul concedes about 10 penalty kicks in a season and if in England or Italy, this is no foul at all.
The officials involved were Björn Kuipers, Pol van Boekel and perhaps also Sander van Roekel.
Chelsea - Benfica refereed by Damir Skomina (SVN)
A penalty which changed the match and certainly a correct one. A stupid tackle by the Portuguese defender who was also correctly penalized with a penalty and a YC.
It took the Italian team about 3 seconds to award the following penalty. Additional Assistant Referee 2 Antonio Damato told his chief that it was a foul - which appeared right under his nose..
At first glance, it seemed to be a fair tackle by Altintop (Real). He surely touched the ball, but - unfortunately for him - a second after he had already touched his opponent with the sliding tackle.